New Jersey Child/Infant Car Seat Safety Law Change Effective Sept. 1st

August 31st, 2015 No Comments

Car seat safetySeptember 1: NJ Child/Infant Car Seat Safety Law Changes 

New Jersey grandparents and parents: take note of the latest car seat safety law which takes effect September 1st.

  • Children under 2 years and 30 pounds must be fastened in a rear-facing car seat with a five-point harness
  • Children under 4 years and 40 pounds must remain in a rear-facing seat or a forward-facing seat with a five-point harness
  • Children under 8 years and 57 inches can remain in rear-facing or forward-facing seat or transition to a booster seat
  • Children must be secured in a car seat or booster seat in the back of the vehicle until age 8 or 80 pounds, whichever comes first
As a reminder, it’s NJ law for everyone in a vehicle–both front and back seat passengers–to wear safety belts. Wearing a seat belt, regardless of seating position, increases your chances of surviving a crash by as much as 75%.
For more information, visit the New Jersey Department of Law & Public Safety website.


<< Back to Blog

Tags:

Comments are closed.